Brazil: President-Elect Dilma Rousseff Announces 10 Future Ministers

first_img On 8 December, Brazilian president-elect Dilma Rousseff announced the names of ten future members of her cabinet, including three women, who will hold the human rights, social communication, and fisheries portfolios. Congressional deputy Maria do Rosario will head the Special Secretariat for Human Rights (cabinet rank), journalist Helena Chagas will be Secretary of Social Communication, and senator Ideli Salvatti will hold the Fisheries portfolio. Paulo Bernardo, currently Planning Minister, will move to Communications, senator Garibaldi Alves will be Minister of Social Security, Edison Lobao will return to the Ministry of Mines and Energy, and Wagner Rossi will remain at Agriculture. In addition, congressional deputy Pedro Novaes will be Tourism Minister, senator Alfredo Nascimento will hold the Transport portfolio, and Moreira Franco will take on the Secretariat of Strategic Affairs. Previously, Rousseff had confirmed only six ministers, including the three economic posts: Guido Mantega at Treasury, Alexandre Tombini at the Central Bank, and Miriam Belchior for the Planning portfolio. Former treasury minister Antonio Palocci will be the cabinet chief, congressional deputy José Eduardo Cardozo will hold the Justice portfolio, and the current cabinet chief, Gilberto Carvalho, will take on the General Secretariat at the Planalto Palace. By Dialogo December 10, 2010last_img